Skip to main content

Showing results for The Beat

Spotlight on Research: Dr. Al Hassanein's Revolutionizing Lymphedema Treatment

Lymphedema, a debilitating condition affecting 250 million individuals globally, has long been a medical puzzle with no definitive solution. However, recent strides in research spearheaded by Dr. Al Hassanein and his team offer a glimmer of hope for those afflicted by this chronic limb swelling. 

Cassie Needy  |  May 21, 2024

Bagley named 2024 Dexter Fellow

Brent Bagley, MD, has earned the Department of Medicine’s 2024 Richard N. Dexter Faculty Fellowship and will receive up to $30,000 to bring his idea for a department-wide, trainee-driven faculty development initiative to fruition.

Caitlin VanOverberghe  |  May 08, 2024

Staff Spotlight: Holly Crandall

Holly Crandall does an excellent job of maintaining organized and complete records in her role as a Project Management Specialist for the Division of Gastroenterology/Hepatology.

Caitlin VanOverberghe  |  May 08, 2024

Department of Medicine faculty earn Trustee Teaching Awards

Each year the Indiana University Board of Trustees recognizes faculty members for their excellence in teaching. Ten of the 57 faculty members from IU School of Medicine to receive the award in 2024 came from the Department of Medicine.

Caitlin VanOverberghe  |  May 08, 2024

Sotto headed for Associate Vice Chancellor post in Pittsburgh

Sylk Sotto, MBA, MPS, EDD, will depart Indiana University School of Medicine to join the University of Pittsburgh Health Sciences as Associate Vice Chancellor for Faculty Development and Inclusive Excellence.

Caitlin VanOverberghe  |  Apr 17, 2024

Department of Medicine Match Day Results for 2024

The Department of Medicine is pleased to announce the names of 76 new learners who have matched into department residency programs. These fourth-year medical students will soon begin their residency training in either Indianapolis, Muncie or Evansville.

Internal medicine clerkships in South Bend offer one-on-one attention

As an Adjunct Associate Professor of Medicine for IU School of Medicine-South Bend, Justin Chow, MD, has a chance to interact with and serve aspiring physicians in many ways. But the facet of the job he particularly enjoys is one-on-one time he’s able to spend with medical students as they embark on some of the earliest clinical rotations of their careers, known as clerkships.

Caitlin VanOverberghe  |  Apr 04, 2024

Staff Spotlight: Kaelea Cheek

Kaelea Cheek goes above and beyond in her service to others. She serves as a program manager in the Division of Gastroenterology/Hepatology in the Department of Medicine, working alongside principal investigators and collaborators at IU School of Medicine and other institutions.

Staff Spotlight: Rose Fiscus

After 44 remarkable years of service to the Department of Medicine, Rose Fiscus will retire at the end of March from her position as the administrative assistant for the Internal Medicine Chief Residents.

Staff Spotlight: Sara Dellinger

Sara Dellinger puts all of herself into everything she does and is leaving an indelible mark on the Department of Medicine’s Research Administration (MRES). Described as dedicated, honest and gracious, Dellinger is second-in-command at MRES, and she is everyone's go-to for answers to everyday questions.