Skip to main content
The IU School of Medicine Class of 2024 recognized faculty, staff, and fellow students at the 2024 Awards Ceremony, held May 9 at the Indiana Historical Society.

2024 Awards Ceremony honors students, faculty and staff

IU medical student is commissioned as an officer.

The IU School of Medicine Class of 2024 recognized faculty, staff, and fellow students at the 2024 Awards Ceremony, held May 9 at the Indiana Historical Society.

In addition to the awards, class members continuing their medical careers in the U.S. military were decorated with commissions.

Those honored include the following:



Student Awards & Honors

Valedictorian & Marcus Ravdin Medal Award
Jackson David Griffith-Linsley  

Salutatorian Award
Sarah Noel Lipp  

Dean's Award
Aonesti Donyell Williams  

Lorraine E. and Raymond A. Gaffney Scholarship Award
Caitlyn Taylor Mulcahey  

Mary Jean Yoder Memorial Award
Joey Ballard  

Patricia A. Keener, Service-Learning Award
Amira Abdulrauf Nafiseh  

Excellence in Public Health Award
Joey Ballard  

Indiana State Medical Association Future Physician Leader Award
Alissa Haas  

The Center for Inclusive Excellence George H. Rawls Exemplary Scholar Award
Kayla Marie Stephenson  

The Center for Inclusive Excellence - Excellence in Service Award
Asif Ali Hossain  

The Center for Inclusive Excellence - Excellence in Research Award
Mohamed Shakeeb Aldallal   

The Center for Inclusive Excellence - Excellence in Basic Science Research
Sarah Noel Lipp  

Julius M. Goodman Scholarship
John Alexander Mose Linczer
Matthew Thomas Perry  

Lynda Means Award
Mary Ann Etling  

Janice M. Pascuzzi Awards
Joey Ballard
Adaline Elizabeth Heitz
Mary Margaret Holohan  

Class of 1985 & Todd B. Taylor Leadership Award
Nirupama Devanathan  

Gerald Bepko Award for Excellence in Professionalism
Megan Elizabeth Swartzenbruder Eigsti  

Gerald Bepko Award for Excellence in Community Service
Samuel Adam Zike  

American Medical Women’s Association Glasgow Rubin Award
Sarah Noel Lipp
Maria Feucht
Sierra Ann Froehlich
Katherine Anne Schaefer
Aileen Elizabeth O'Hayer Seay
Elise Ann Patrick
Kaitlin Wendel
Kendall Wilson
Emily Ann Barron
Catherine Elizabeth Meador
Erica Geers
Deepthi Thadasina
Emily Rae Merritt
Clare Bridget Gallagher
Meghan Elizabeth Willoughby
Kelsey Marie Fulton
Madison Rose Sido
Katelyn Elizabeth Stevens
Adaline Elizabeth Heitz
Kayla Marie Stephenson  

Department of Anatomy John Barnhill Human Structure Award
Dalton Tyler Sullivan  

Department of Anatomy John Barnhill Neuroscience and Behavior Award
Jackson David Griffith-Linsley  

Student Excellence in Anesthesiology
Austin Joseph Blais  

SAEM Medical Student Excellence in Emergency Medicine Award
Evan T. Anderson  

ACEP/EMRA Medical Student Professionalism and Leadership Award
Erika Marie Robertson  

Department of Family Medicine Award
Ali Ahmad Farhat  
Department of Medicine Outstanding Performance on the Sub-Internship Award
Brent Michael McCreary  

Department of Medicine John B. Hickam Award
April Ann Gettelfinger  

American Academy of Neurology Medical Student Award for Excellence in Neurology
Hendrick Jacob Greve  

Department of Neurology Alexander Treloar Ross Award
Courtney Rae Seigel  

Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology Roy Norman Rheinhardt Memorial Award
Makayla LaVerne Kirksey  

Richard S. Hansell, MD Award for Outstanding Senior Student Teaching in Obstetrics and Gynecology
Elise Ann Patrick  

Department of Orthopaedic Surgery Inclusive Excellence Award
Doriann M. Alcaide  

The Dr. William Capello Outstanding 4th year Orthopaedic Medical Student Award
Jenna Kay-Marie Jones  

Department of Otolaryngology Edward C. Weisberger, MD Award
Matthew Reed Steinhart  

Department of Pathology Carleton D. Nordschow Award
Cyrus Takahasi
Kendall Wilson  

Department of Pediatrics John E. Heubi Award in Ambulatory Pediatrics
David William Kronenberger  

Department of Pediatrics Tina Kwan Award
Alejandra Yadira Rodriguez  

Department of Pediatrics Lyman T. Meiks Clinical Award
Daniel Luke Green  

Department of Pediatrics Lyman T. Meiks Research Award
Amira Abdulrauf Nafiseh  

Department of Pharmacology K.K. Chen Award
Hannah Lillian Kline  

Department of Psychiatry Patricia H. Sharpley Award
Naari Jeong

Student Excellence in Radiology Award
Clare Bridget Gallagher  

Department of Surgery Indiana Chapter of the American College of Surgeons Award
Aditya Prashant Desai  

Department of Surgery Dr. and Mrs. John N. Pittman Surgery Awards
Aditya Prashant Desai
Gianna Marie Fernandez
Sameer Praddumna Leley
Brandon Charles Toliver
Zachary Thomas Walker  

William M. Plater Civic Engagement Medallion
Joey Ballard
Daniel Green
Nabia Kahn
Kate Sokolowski
Collin Wilkins

IUPUI Chancellor's Scholar Award
Jackson David Griffith-Linsley  

IUPUI Elite 50
Haley Drozd Andrew
Megan Eigstil
Mary Ann Etling
Anna Feliciano
Sierra Froehlich
Jasmine Galivan
Gregory Grecco
Daniel Green
Hendrik Greve (Premier 10)
Maggie Holohan
Hannah Kline
Sai Sripad Kodulula
Kristen Lentsch
Abhipri Mishra
Amira Nafisch
Collin Wilkins (Premier 10)
Meghan Willoughby



Awards from Class of 2024 to Faculty & Staff

Outstanding Teaching of Basic Science Awards

Charles Rudick, PhD
Mark E. Bauman, MD 

Gattadahalli S. Seetharam, PhD 

Fort Wayne
Leslie A. Hoffman, PhD 

Jennelle D. Richardson, PhD 

Derron L. Bishop, PhD 

Joshua Mangum, MS, PhD 

South Bend
Joseph Harmon, MD, MS 

Terre Haute
John Barone, MD 

West Lafayette
James D. Forney, PhD

Outstanding Teaching of Clinical Science 

Timothy Webb, MD 

Emergency Medicine
Andrew Beckman, MD
Edward Bartkus, MD 

Family Medicine
Javier F. Sevilla-Martir, MD 

Joanne M. Wojcieszek, MD 

Maryann Chimhanda, MD, MS 

Internal Medicine
T. Robert Vu, MD 

Hank Knouse, DO

Aimee Patel, MD 

Richard B. Gunderman, MD, PhD 

General Surgery
Hadley Ritter, MD
Jennalee Cooksey, MD 

Sub-Specialty Surgery
Brian W. Gray, MD



Other Awards 

Outstanding Advocate for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
Maryann Chimhanda, MD 

Outstanding Clerkship

Outstanding Support Staff
Jose Espada, Financial Aid Services 

Outstanding Regional Campus Support Staff
Corona Wiley, Northwest

Outstanding Resident
Maya Hunt, MD, General Surgery PGY2 

Golden Apple Award
Katie Stanton, MD

The views expressed in this content represent the perspective and opinions of the author and may or may not represent the position of Indiana University School of Medicine.
Default Author Avatar IUSM Logo

Medical Student Education

The Medical Student Education team includes student affairs, curricular affairs and student support professionals across the state who support medical students at every step of their journey.