Skip to main content

Department of Medicine Faculty

Led by Interim Chair Naga Chalasani, MD, the Department of Medicine consists of more than 800 faculty members and 10 specialty divisions. Faculty include master clinicians, renowned researchers and excellent clinician educators, and all contribute to the teaching of students, residents and fellows.

The department ranks among the top 25 of the nation’s 125 academic medical centers in attracting research support from the National Institutes of Health. Federally funded grants include those that focus on cancer, vascular biology, bone disease, renal cell biology, sexually transmitted diseases, pharmacogenomics, liver disease, aging, diabetes, informatics, HSRD and immunobiology. Department of Medicine faculty and fellows conduct hundreds of protocols to investigate new therapies.

For residents, these research strengths provide exposure to ongoing clinical trials, contact with expert guest lecturers from around the world, opportunities for patient oriented or bench research electives, and day-to-day interactions with our faculty. The Department of Medicine’s Division of General Internal Medicine and Geriatrics is one of the oldest, largest and most comprehensive academic primary-care divisions in the nation, with more than 158 faculty.